Self-Indulgent Thoughts About Me, By Me

I have always been an asshole.

Since I can remember, my mouth has gotten me into trouble. Granted, I went to Catholic school, so when I voiced any opinion that didn’t coincide with their dogmatic posture on life, death, eternity and morality, it would often earn me detention, and a lot of letters home to my parents. But I had questions…ideas… and thoughts… and when most people my age were being taught to conform, I was challenging conventional wisdom. It would have been much easier for me if I had just learned to keep my trap shut . But I had to be me. What an asshole.

When I grew older, I found that experience and education accord credibility. I also learned that Honesty is the path to Integrity, and Rationality the key to learning the Truth. The problem in my youth was less about my opinions, as they were about being an idealistic little twerp with no means justify my assertions. So as I developed my views on Matrimony, Monogamy, Religion, and Political Science, I made sure I had facts to back me up. Indeed, wherever actuality may lead, if I remained true to it’s authenticity…Honesty, Integrity, Rationality, Truth and Credibility would follow.

So know this much about me… I don’t arrive at any conclusions irresponsibly. There are those who gather information to support predeterminations… They find data to coincide with their proclivities, and the dictates of their passions. Moreover, they’ll disregard data that will contradict their claims. That is neither truth, nor integrity. We must go where facts lead us, and make our determinations thusly. Even if they are uncomfortable. I have developed the “UnLearn” brand name in order to counteract some of the socio/political inequities I see occurring every day through News Media, Religious Institutions, and the Self Help Business. I have found a way to express my idealism constructively, and I aim it at those who bastardize “morality” in order to make a buck.

So I go where the facts lead me, and if that offends, so be it. Sometimes, the truth can hurt.

About Rich Woods

Rich Woods is the author of the critically acclaimed books, UnLearn Vanilla Marriage, and Yahweh to Hell. He is also a columnist, sociologist, and satirist who has performed seminars around the country. He's also made several TV and radio appearances. Transitioning from a blue-collar background has given Mr. Woods a unique perspective --and an even more unique elocution--among his peers. Raised Catholic, Mr. Woods is now a very public atheist who champions the separation of church and state. He's an advocate for non-traditional relationships, including --but not limited to-- negotiating non-monogamy, as well as being a vocal opponent of political correctness. Throughout his career, Woods has had colorful metaphors hurled in his direction from both liberals, and conservatives. To be honest, most of the vitriol comes from the Tea Party. However, he considers one of his greatest accomplishments having been called "Harry Reid's Lapdog" , and referred to as being "just like Rush Limbaugh" from two different sources within minutes of one another. Originally from Queens, New York, and presently residing in central New Jersey, Rich Woods is madly, and hopelessly in love with his wife Jane since before they were wed in 2002, and is the proud father of two successful, brilliantly creative, young adult children. Try as he might, he can't juggle.

Posted on July 7, 2010, in Archived Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey Rich,

    This blog…I can tell…was very deep & personal to you. Great introspection!

    Thanks for sharing and for your constant yearning for the ultimate truth..especially, when it comes to the self help industry.

    Brenda 🙂

  2. Rich, I too am an asshole, and had similar problems thru my catholic school years… I’m proud to be in such good company.

  3. Awesome article asshole. We should all learn to warn our oppressors in an honest evaluation of how others will perceive us according to their views.

    I myself am quite practiced at being a bitch—which is the infantile outer perception–when in reality I merely defend my dignity and have severe allergic reactions to bullshit.

    I can tell what you say is authentic because no one else speaks like you do. That is worth it’s weight in gold and you are gaining my respect. Not that my respect may matter to anyone else but just because it fosters respect within me is enough to give recognition where it is due.

    Fuck(reverantly) the nuns and listen to the bitch…..Thanks.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

